Big Bend Phi Theta Kappa Inducts 19 New Members

Nineteen new members were inducted into Big Bend Community College’s Rho Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa on Feb. 13. Those in attendance are pictured (back row from left) Alexa Bond, Danielle Dunlap, Clarissa Muhlestein, Callen Preston, Reagan Lengenfelder, Bianca Mendoza-Zubiran, Peter Wolf, and Dora Mendez. (Front row from left) Tyler Klein, Anna Yarbro, Areli Zarate, Elexa Harris, Hailey Wilson, and Miranda Kling.

MOSES LAKE — Nineteen Big Bend Community College students became members of the prestigious Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society during the organization’s fall induction ceremony Tuesday evening.

Family and friends gathered to witness the inductees as they took the oath of membership in a ceremony highlighted by guest speaker Melinda Dourte — BBCC graduate, PTK sponsor, and executive assistant to the president at Big Bend Community College.  

President Dr. Terry Leas then presented each new member with a white rose signifying their achievement.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) was established in 1918 by college presidents and serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievements of two-year college students and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. The Rho Zeta Chapter at BBCC is currently celebrating its 50th Anniversary — the chapter was chartered on Nov. 17, 1967.

Eligibility for PTK membership includes a grade point average of at least 3.4 and must have completed a minimum of 12 quarter hours at BBCC and must be enrolled for a minimum of 3 academic quarter hours during the current semester.

The organization affords its members with academic scholarships that cover full tuition, books and even room and board at some 4-year institutions. For more information about the Rho Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa CLICK HERE!

The new students who were inducted to the Rho Zeta Chapter at BBCC were: Hannah Bedard, Spokane Valley, WA; Alexa Bond, Moses Lake, WA; David Fazende, Moses Lake, WA; Yaneth Herrera, Warden, WA; Reagan Lengenfelder, Moses Lake, WA; Clarissa Muhlestein, Moses Lake, WA; Russell Reed, Moses Lake, WA; Peter Wolf, Ephrata, WA; Areli Zarate, Quincy, WA; Hannah Bensch, Quincy, WA; Danielle Dunlap, Edmonds, WA; Elexa Harris, Moses Lake, WA; Miranda Kling, Moses Lake, WA; Tyler Klein, Hazen, ND; Dora Mendez, Othello, WA; Callen Preston, Moses Lake, WA; Hailey Wilson, Moses Lake, WA; Anna Yarbro, Moses Lake, WA; Bianca Mendoza-Zubiran, Moses Lake, WA.

Covid-19 InformationRead More On Covid