BASIC EDUCATION FOR ADULTS (BEdA)

English as a Second Language (ESL)

Beginning and intermediate English language skills for adults whose first language is not English. 

High School Plus Diploma (HS+)

Adults age 18+ without a high school diploma can take classes and earn a BBCC high school diploma

Open Doors Program (ODP)

Young adults, ages 16-21, who want an opportunity to earn a high school diploma in a college environment.

General Education Diploma (GED) Preparation

Adults age 18+ without a high school diploma can take classes and prepare for the GED exam series.

Additional Services

  • High School Equivalency (HEP) Program – provides additional support and resources to migrant and seasonal farmworkers (spouse and dependents included) enrolled in HS+ and GED completion programs.
  • Workforce Education Services –  provides guidance, support, and financial assistance for students in basic education and workforce education programs (non-transfer degrees)
  • William C. Bonaudi Library – located in the Advanced Technology Education Center (ATEC), Building 1800
  • English Writing Center – provides both BEdA and college-level students assistance with writing projects (located in the Library)
  • Career Services – assists current, prospective and former students with exploring off-campus employment opportunities

Questions? Call us at (509) 793-2304 (English or Spanish) or email BEdAinfo@bigbend.edu 

Remember to always leave us a contact number so we can return your call promptly! 

Hours

Mon-Thurs8:00-5:00
Friday8:00-2:30
Sat-SunClosed
Basic Education for Adults (BEdA) Contact

Our staff speaks Spanish, Russian and English

BEdA Faculty/Staff
Carmen Ramirez

Ramirez, Carmen

HEP Educational Planner
CarmenR@bigbend.edu
Career Services Coordinator, Jody Bortz

Bortz, Jody

BEdA Director
jodyb@bigbend.edu
(509) 793-2331
Diana Viafana

Villafana, Diana

HEP Grant Manager
dianav@bigbend.edu
(509) 793-2401
Logo of Big Bend Thor

Johnson, Barbi

BEdA Administrative Assistant
BarbiJ@bigbend.edu
(509) 793-2301
Rosemary Parsons

Parsons, Rosemary

BEdA Faculty
rosemaryp@bigbend.edu
(509) 793-2304
Logo of Big Bend Thor

Farman, Jill

BEdA Associate Faculty
JillF@bigbend.edu
Logo of Big Bend Thor

Couright, Caren

BEdA Program Assistant
carenc@bigbend.edu
(509) 793-2037
Dourte Melinda

Dourte, Melinda

Executive Assistant to the President, BEdA Associate Faculty
melindad@bigbend.edu
(509) 793-2001
Logo of Big Bend Thor

Perry, Mystina

BEdA Associate Faculty
mistyp@bigbend.edu
Logo of Big Bend Thor

Maldonado-Flores, Julio

BEdA Associate Faculty
JulioM@bigbend.edu
Logo of Big Bend Thor

Pinckard, Devin

BEdA Associate Faculty
devinp@bigbend.edu
Logo of Big Bend Thor

McKee, Katy

BEdA Associate Faculty
katym@bigbend.edu
Logo of Big Bend Thor

Trujillo, Jorge

BEdA Instructor
jorget@bigbend.edu
Logo of Big Bend Thor

Milligan, Abinadi

BEdA Planner
abinadim@bigbend.edu
509-793-2334
Additional Links

CLICK ABOVE LINK FOR DETAILED INFORMATION:

Main Campus-Moses Lake

Quincy

Othello

Mattawa

other locations in the BBCC district to follow.

Covid-19 InformationRead More On Covid
+