Phi Theta Kappa Inducts 16 New Members

Sixteen Big Bend Community College students became members of the prestigious Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society during the organization’s fall induction ceremony Monday evening.

Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) was established in 1918 by college presidents and serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievements of two-year college students and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.

The Rho Zeta Chapter at BBCC will be celebrating its 50th Anniversary next month. The chapter was chartered on Nov. 17, 1967.

Family and friends gathered Monday evening to witness the 16 new members as they took the oath of membership. The ceremony was highlighted by guest speaker Nicole Anderson, D.N.P. BBCC President Dr. Terry Leas then presented each new member with a white rose signifying the achievement.

Eligibility for PTK membership includes a grade point average of at least 3.5 and recommendation from a faculty member. In addition, students desiring to join the society must have completed a minimum of 15 semester hours at BBCC and must be enrolled for a minimum of 15 academic semester hours during the current semester.

The organization affords its members with academic scholarships that cover full tuition, books and even room and board at some 4-year institutions.

Phi Theta Kappa inducts 16 new members

The students inducted were: Roland Alejo, Moses Lake; Yessenia Armengol, Royal City; Ai Iguchi, Japan; Reid Jackson, Moses Lake; and Angel Barron, Othello; Jacob Shangle, Moses Lake; and Emily Starcher, Moses Lake; Chloe Johnson, Moses Lake; Caitlin Porter, Ephrata; Francisco Marmoleji, Royal City; Ross Folsom, Ephrata; and Tana Richins, Moses Lake; Kaitlyn Coleman, Quincy; Tonya Budlong, Moses Lake; Kyle Francisco, Moses Lake; Kelson Mills, Vaugh; Luz Placido, Moses Lake.

CLICK HERE to view more photos on BBCC’s Facebook page!

Covid-19 InformationRead More On Covid