Phi Theta Kappa inducts 10 new members

Students posing after being inducted

MOSES LAKE — Ten Big Bend Community College students have officially become members of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society following the organization’s winter induction ceremony Tuesday evening.

New inductees took the oath of membership in front of family and friends after hearing from guest speaker Lindsay Groce, who has taught Chemistry at Big Bend since 2013.

Groce shared her academic and professional journey with students, and explained how teaching was not in her original plan. But thanks to a couple key opportunities that popped up along the way, she found her calling as an educator.

“Don’t be afraid to have goals, and start on a path,” she said. “But it’s important to diverge when needed, to take advantage of opportunities along the way if you need to.”

BBCC president Dr. Terry Leas then presented each new member with a white rose to signify their achievement.

Phi Theta Kappa members also recognized new advisor David Mayhugh during the ceremony. Mayhugh taught for BBCC through the College in the High School program for two years before becoming a full-time Math instructor.

Mayhugh previously taught Math at Ephrata High School for six years, and during that time served as an advisor for the school’s National Honor Society chapter.

“It’s been a privilege to help with PTK this year and work alongside such amazing students,” said Mayhugh.

Phi Theta Kappa was established in 1918 and aims to celebrate the academic achievement of college students and provide them with opportunities to grow as scholars and leaders. The organization is recognized as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

The Rho Zeta Chapter at Big Bend celebrated its 50th anniversary last year. They recently received the prestigious Five-Star chapter designation.

Eligibility for membership includes a grade point average of at least 3.4 and recommendation from a faculty member. In addition, students wanting to join Phi Theta Kappa must have completed a minimum of 15 semester hours at BBCC and must be enrolled for a minimum of 15 academic semester hours during the current semester.

The new students inducted were: Naileah Nunez, Moses Lake; Emric Scriven, Moses Lake; Sabrina Flores, Moses Lake; Megan White, Moses Lake; Samantha Martin, Moses Lake; Claire Youngers, Ephrata; Michael Nelson, Ephrata; Nolan Middleton, Ephrata; Eduardo Rodriguez, Royal City; and Addisyn Kagele, Odessa.

Covid-19 InformationRead More On Covid