Phi Theta Kappa inducts 23 new members

PTK Induction

MOSES LAKE — Twenty-three Big Bend Community College students have officially become members of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society following the organization’s winter induction ceremony Tuesday evening.

New inductees took the oath of membership in front of family and friends after hearing from guest speaker, Sarah Schutt, who is a BBCC and Phi Theta Kappa alum. She served as Rho Zeta Chapter president and PTK Greater Northwest Regional Vice President while a student at Big Bend.

Schutt shared some of her academic and professional journey with students, and explained how getting involved with student clubs and organizations helped her have a more positive college experience.

She encouraged them to participate in Phi Theta Kappa, and other clubs, as much as possible. 

“Your turn to experience college is right now. So just show up, even if it might seem intimidating,” said Schutt.

Phi Theta Kappa was established in 1918 and aims to celebrate the academic achievement of college students and provide them with opportunities to grow as scholars and leaders. The organization is recognized as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

The Rho Zeta Chapter has been active on the Big Bend campus for more than 50 years. They recently received the prestigious Five-Star chapter designation.

Eligibility for membership includes a grade point average of at least 3.4 and recommendation from a faculty member. In addition, students wanting to join Phi Theta Kappa must have completed a minimum of 15 credits at BBCC and must be enrolled for a minimum of 15 credits during the current quarter.

The new students inducted were: Rosalinda Aguirre, Othello; Alejandro Barajas, Quincy; Mariana Hernandez Brito, Ephrata; Rachel Compo, Moses Lake; Gissel Estrada, Quincy; Cinthia Guizar-Diaz, Lind; Abigail Johnson, Moses Lake; James Krautscheid, Quincy; Audra Pierce, Moses Lake; Odyssey Valencia, Othello; Alejandro Vizcarra, Othello; Vance Alvarado, Moses Lake; Maria Amaya-Serrano, Moses Lake; Jasmine Castilo, Moses Lake; Alexis Delgado, Moses Lake; McKinley Fulk, Ephrata; Breanna Guzman, Moses Lake; Kaiya King, Moses Lake; Melisha Martinez, Othello; Callie Talbert, Moses Lake; Obryanna Valencia, Othello; Lizeth Sotelo Rosas, Royal City; and Lillie LaPlace, Electric City.

Covid-19 InformationRead More On Covid