Phi Theta Kappa inducts 11 new members

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

Phi Theta Kappa inducts 11 new members

MOSES LAKE — Eleven Big Bend Community College students have officially become members of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society following the organization’s winter induction ceremony Thursday evening.

New inductees took the oath of membership virtually.

Phi Theta Kappa was established in 1918 and aims to celebrate the academic achievement of college students and provide them with opportunities to grow as scholars and leaders. The organization is recognized as the official honor society for two-year colleges.

The Rho Zeta Chapter has been active on the Big Bend campus for more than 50 years. They recently received the prestigious Five-Star chapter designation.

Eligibility for membership includes a grade point average of at least 3.4 and recommendation from a faculty member. In addition, students wanting to join Phi Theta Kappa must have completed a minimum of 15 credits at BBCC and must be enrolled for a minimum of 15 credits during the current quarter.

The new students inducted were: Jasiah Adame, Moses Lake; Silas Ahrend, Soap Lake; Tiffany Alexander, Ephrata; Tanya Emerson, Electric City; Kako Kishimoto, Moses Lake; Diego Marulanda, Moses Lake; Jacky Mejia, Othello; Erik Navidad, Royal City; Allyson Springer, Moses Lake; Hailey Troupe, Coulee City; and Paloma Villanueva, Moses Lake.

Keep up with BBCC Phi Theta Kappa on Facebook!

Covid-19 InformationRead More On Covid