Five BBCC instructors granted tenure by Trustees

Five faculty members have been awarded tenure by the Big Bend Community College Trustees, and 10 more tenure-track faculty members had their contracts renewed during one of the busiest tenure review periods in the college’s history.

“Congratulations are in order,” said BBCC President Terry Leas.

On March 3, trustees granted tenure to the following instructors: James Ayers, Industrial Systems Technology; Clint Gilbert, Welding; Lindsay Groce, Chemistry; Brinn Harberts, Math; and Libby Sullivan, Reference Librarian.

James Ayers granted tenureClint Gilbert granted tenureLindsay Grose granted tenureBrinn Harberts granted tenureLibby Sullivan granted tenure

New faculty members usually are on probationary status for three years before being granted tenure.

BBCC Trustees individually review the reports of the probationary tenure-review committees. Separate motions are required each time a faculty is granted tenure or renewed and extended by Trustees—so they approved 15 motions to grant tenure or renew and extend contracts of instructors at the March 3 meeting.

Probationary faculty whose contracts were renewed and extended include: Benjamin Altrogge, Commercial Pilot; Amber Bravo, Nursing; Michael Dzbenski, Music; Dawnne Ernette, Development Education; Jaime Garza, Counselor; Heidi Gephart, Counselor; John Martin, Automotive Technology; John Mark Swedburg II, Commercial Pilot; Valerie Wade, Developmental Education; and Arthur Wanner, Computer Science.

“The Trustees are impressed with each faculty member’s focus on student success and excellence in teaching and learning,” said BBCC President Terry Leas.

“They also complimented members of the many probationary tenure review committees for their conscientious work on behalf of the probationary faculty members.”

Covid-19 InformationRead More On Covid