Early Childhood Education

The Early Childhood Education Program prepares students to work with children ages birth to eight as childcare providers, preschool teachers, assistant teachers, para educators or child care administrators in professional settings such as:

  • Early Head Start, Head Start, Migrant Head Start
  • ECEAP (Early Childhood Education and Assistance Program)
  • Preschool Programs
  • Public Schools
  • Childcare Centers
  • Family Homes

ECE classes are offered in the late afternoon, evening and online to allow students to work and attend school.  

Program Requirements

  • High School Diploma or GED (if applying for Financial Aid) 
  • Pass Washington State Patrol background check
  • Pass a Washington State Department of Children, Youth and Families background check (fingerprints may be required)
  • Complete Tuberculin skin test
  • Obtain Washington Education Liability Insurance (if applicable)
  • Maintain an overall 2.0 GPA (if receiving Financial Aid and to obtain degree)

See what it’s all about

Early Childhood Education Contact

jennyn@bigbend.edu

(509) 793-2216

Building 3700

Room 137Q (WEC)

Early Childhood Education Faculty/Staff

Early Childhood Education advisor, Jenny Nighswonger

Nighswonger, Jenny

Early Childhood Education Program Coordinator
jennyn@bigbend.edu
(509) 793-2216
Early Childhood Education instructor, Michele Reeves

Reeves, Michele

Education Faculty
micheler@bigbend.edu
(509) 793-2330
Early Childhood Education instructor, Amber Giles

Giles, Amber

Early Childhood Education Associate Faculty
amberg@bigbend.edu
Early Childhood Education instructor, Cami McLean

Mclean, Cami

Early Childhood Education Associate Faculty
camim@bigbend.edu
Early Childhood Education instructor, Robin Cluff

Cluff, Robin

Early Childhood Education Associate Faculty
robinc@bigbend.edu
Early Achievers instructor, Astrid Chen

Chen, Astrid

Early Achievers Point of Contact & WES Program Assistant
astridc@bigbend.edu
(509) 793-2051
Covid-19 InformationRead More On Covid
+