TRIO Student Support Services celebrates 2020 graduates

TRiO SSS 2020 Graduates

MOSES LAKE — The Big Bend Community College TRIO Student Support Services program celebrated its group of 2020 graduates during a virtual ceremony Wednesday evening. Sixty students were recognized during the online event, which was held via Zoom.

Students heard from BBCC president Terry Leas and TRIO staff before sharing their educational and vocational plans with the group. Many graduates also took time to speak about their experience in the program.

TRIO SSS Director Veronica Guadarrama said she was proud of each of the 60 graduates for their strong finish to the academic year.

“The graduates of 2020 have overcome obstacles that no other class has before. Even during difficult times, these graduates remained focused on their academics, persevered, and have now become triumphant,” said Guadarrama. “Thank you graduates for letting us be a part of your academic journey. Your success shows that you are unstoppable. Don’t forget that. We wish you the best in your next chapter.”

The TRIO SSS program at Big Bend has been on campus for more than 30 years. The goal of the program is to help motivate students to attain their educational goals, graduate and/or transfer to an institute of higher education.

TRIO advisors provide academic advising, transfer support and personal development for students who are from low-income backgrounds and who are often first-generation college students. The program also supports students with disabilities.

The program serves up to 190 eligible students each academic year.

For more information, visit the TRIO SSS program webpage. Current students interested in applying to the program can use the TRIO SSS online application. Students will need to have their BBCC Student ID number to complete the application.

Full list of 2020 TRIO SSS graduates:

Moses Lake

Arturo Maldonado, Ayla Avalos, Deacon Garza, Delia Pioquinto, Etelvina Rodriguez, Jesenia Valencia, Katie Harper, Katie Redwine, Kelli Ritter, Kelsie Klingemann, Kevin Portillo-Deleon, Lydia Cedillo, Mickayla Shtyba, Paola Esqueda, Stephanie Ocampo, William Clifner.


Alyssa Edson, Fernando Barriga-Moreno, Jizelle Pruneda, Jonathan Jaime-Ortega, Kasandra Ozuna.


Luis Rodriguez, Rocio Mendoza.


Graciela Ramirez Ortiz, Odalis Santiago.

Coulee City

Heather Wood


Alexis Moreno, Caterin Mendoza, Daisy Buenrostro, David Cozar, Erika Uribe, Jasmine Ortiz, Jennifer Gonzalez-Camacho, Leonardo Hernandez, Miguel Preciado, Nora Medina, Olivia Ramirez, Sonia Rebollo, Susan Chavez-Balbuena, Tori Johnson, Zulema Gutierrez.

Royal City

Adamari Valente, Eduardo Rodriguez, Isela Aguirre, Jessica Navarro, Jesus Santillan, Juan Hernandez.


Jaqueline Barajas

Soap Lake

Eric Huchin,


Jenae Mercado, Jessica Tenorio, Jose Jimenez, Marjandy Vizcarra, Ruben Hernandez, Victoria Moreno.


Jessica Ventura-Martinez


Benjamin Piang


Carson Long

Salem, Oregon

Justin Bostwick

Salinas, California

Sabino Plascencia

Leave a Reply

Covid-19 InformationRead More On Covid